Red Seas Fire “Resolution”

I’m usually very selective of the Metalcore I review. It can tend to sound the same and therefore I’m not usually afraid to turn down reviews for metalcore bands, particularly when I’m backed up such as how I am now. Red Seas Fire just so happened to peak my interest though. It may be that their EP Resolution is only four songs long and therefore I thought there wasn’t going to be too many songs that would risk losing my interest, but that’s the pessimist in me I suppose. The optimist in me likes to think that the reason I chose to review Red Seas Fire is because I heard something unique in their songs that other metalcore bands lacked.

Resolution‘s first track is Hourglass. The vocals of this track, which only barely runs at two-and-a-half minutes, switch nicely between screaming and singing, typical of metalcore. What I like about the song is how it shows Red Seas Fire have a bit of a progressive metal approach to their song writing. But at the end of the day this is typical of a metalcore song for the most part. The progressive metal structures only broaden with the next track Blood Bank, which is much more intense and has significantly more clean vocals.

The song writing and intellectuality that the band has shown to this point have been just fine, but it’s the almost nine-minute epic The Mistakes We Make where Red Seas Fire shines. They make the most of this one true moment on the EP to write one of the finer metalcore songs I can think of. I say finer because I can’t think of many nine-minute metalcore songs. They’re out there but I can’t think of them because they usually lose my interest a few minutes in, while The Mistakes We Make keeps me interested throughout with its tight progressive multi-parted song structure and its perfect vocal transitions, with vocalist Robin Adams hitting notes that weren’t previously hit on the first two songs.

Resolution ends with Ocean Death. This song is unlike anything else on the EP, and also unlike much I’ve heard from many metalcore bands, progressive or not progressive. The song is slow and not so intense. It’s intro is nothing short of great. When the volume picks up, the song starts to sound just a tad basic, but still unlike anything else on Resolution. I like how it ends as though it’s going to lead into another track, but doesn’t.

In the end I think that I chose to review Red Seas Fire‘s Resolution for both reasons; I figured that just four songs wouldn’t be enough to eventually make the EP turn sour and I also feel there is something about Red Seas Fire that makes them different and unique. I’d like to think that if there were more than four songs on Resolution that I’d still have the high opinion of it as I do now, but I can’t be sure. What I can tell you for sure is that these four songs show me Red Seas Fire has something to offer. The song writing is above par, but there are a lot of metalcore clichés such as guitarist Pete Graves playing the same note over and over while drummer Jon Worgan plays a complex drum pattern over it. That happens in just about every song. Besides that I find most of these songs to be better than the norm when it comes to metalcore bands.

ALBUM HIGHLIGHT

Blood Bank” –­ The reason I pick this as the highlight is because in some ways it’s your typical metalcore song, but it shows some of what makes Red Seas Fire unique, particularly in its slight progressive nature. It shows that Red Seas Fire follows the norm but at the same time tries to break away from it. Sure other songs on Resolution are better, but none put the EP in a nutshell the way Blood Bank does. Okay, maybe The Mistakes We Make does as well, but I’m not going to pick an almost nine-minute track as my highlight this time around.

FINAL RATING

8 (Out of 10)

Track List:

1 Hourglass 2:28
2 Blood Bank 4:15
3 The Mistakes We Make 8:50
4 Ocean Death 3:55

 

Leave a Reply

