Black Veil Brides “Wretched and Divine: The Story of the Wild Ones”

Saturday, 19 January 2013

To start off the New Year, we’re going to look at the first Hard Rock album to come out this year. Released on January 8th 2013, Black Veil Brides un ”veil” their 3rd and so far finest album to date, the concept album “Wretched and Divine: The Story of the Wild Ones”.

Continuing with the Hard Rock sound that they found themselves comfortable with on their second album, 2011’s “Set the World on Fire” (as opposed to the more Metalcore sound on their debut album “We Stitch These Wounds” released in 2010), Black Veil Brides find themselves in far more comfortable waters. This is apparent by just listening to singer Andy Biersack’s vocal performance. It is obvious that he is far more comfortable with his maturing voice (Going from being 19 on the debut to a 22 year old on this album), especially in songs such as the Title Track and “I Am Bulletproof.” As well, he also shows much more capability in singing slower, more ballad songs such as the beautifully arranged “Lost It All” and the eerie “Done For You”

Musically the band sounds just as dynamic as ever. Lead guitarist Jake Pitts and rhythm guitarist Jeremy “Jinxx” Ferguson sound like they’ve been playing guitar with each other for more than just 2 years. They really complement each other’s styles perfectly, just as they’ve done on the previous albums, and most importantly they seem to be improving at the same rate.

Bass player Ashley Purdy and drummer Christian “CC” Coma come out all guns blazing with a rhythm section that could compete with the likes of Bullet For My Valentine or Escape The Fate, rounding off the line-up of a band that have come a long way in just 3 years.
The one downside to the album would be the amount of filler tracks. Since this is a concept album, the album has a feel like it is a movie, that keeps going until the last song. In order to accomplish this, 7 of the tracks on the album are short interludes to the next song (Exordium, F.E.A.R. Transmission 1: Stay Close, F.E.A.R. Transmission 2: Trust, Overture, Abeyance, F.E.A.R. Transmission 3: As War Fades and finally F.E.A.R. Final Transmission). While these tracks make the album a more dramatic listen when hearing it from beginning to end, they serve little to no purpose to be listened to individually.

“In The End” – The first single off the album, and rightfully picked. It may be the album’s last track, but it sums up the entire album in a nutshell with its anthem of a chorus to its shredding guitar fills.




7.5 (Out of 10)



Another recommended listen would be their song Unbroken, released on the Avengers soundtrack, and displays, in perfect form, the transition between their previous album and this one
Track List:

“Exordium” 0:25
“I Am Bulletproof” 3:34
“New Year’s Day” 3:25
“F.E.A.R. Transmission 1: Stay Close” 0:35
“Wretched and Divine” 3:37
“We Don’t Belong” 3:36
“F.E.A.R. Transmission 2: Trust” 0:20
“Devil’s Choir” 2:57
“Resurrect the Sun” 4:34
“Overture” 1:38
“Shadows Die” 5:25
“Abeyance” 0:14
“Days Are Numbered” 3:40
“Done for You” 2:33
“Nobody’s Hero” 3:35
“Lost It All” 5:19
“F.E.A.R. Transmission 3: As War Fades” 0:58
“In The End” 3:48
“F.E.A.R. Final Transmission” 0:54

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s